A major cereal company is recalling close to 2 million boxes of its popular products.

The possibility of gluten contamination prompted General Mills to recall 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios that were labeled gluten-free. The company announced there may have been contamination issues resulting in wheat flour accidentally being introduced into the gluten-free oat flour system at its facility in Lodi.

Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance shouldn’t consume products with the affected code dates, and can contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

The affected products include Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios in the yellow box with the plant code “LD,” which indicates the product was made at the Lodi facility.

There have been two reports of illnesses linked to the affected products. For more details call (800) 775-8370.

Advertisements